Free Audiobook:Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull

Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull

Posted by Erik Nilsson, May 2017

Author: Ed Catmull   Narrator: Peter Altschuler   Language: English    Category: Business  

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business – sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation – into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture – but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.” For nearly 20 years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner 30 Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired – and so profitable. As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a PhD student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success – and in the 13 movies that followed – was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change – it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.

Try out Audible and listen to this audiobook, completely free for 30 days. It only requires a couple of minutes, and you’ll be listening, and have access to thousands of audiobooks.
 .

Why listen to audiobooks via Audible?

Audiobooks on your terms

Audible is of course compitable with your mobile device. Take your audiobook with you to the gym, while grocery shopping or even in the car – bring your audiobook everywhere!

180.000+ titles

Audible provides the largest audiobook library in the world. With over 180.000 titles, you’ll never run out of amazing stories to fill your days with, and if you dislike a book, exchange it with something else, always for free. 

Audiobooks for the whole family

Listen as much as you want, maybe some books for the kids, maybe some for your partner. Audible is simply the one and only service to get the best possible digital audiobook experience.

Audible user reviews

Audible’s users are totally in love with the service!

“One of my favorite apps. I drive alot and Audible lets me get through a ton of books. They are great about returning books I don’t like. I also love that I can put it on any device and pick up right where I left off.”

“Just wonderful, I never had time to read except in the 10 minutes before bed, by then I’m already falling asleep and have to re-read the next night as it didn’t retain. Now I can listen to books while travelling, doing the housework, getting ready for work each morning. I’m getting through all the books I’ve been meaning to read for years in just a couple of months.”

“Love, love, love it! Flexible listening options and a fantastic selection of audiobooks. Definitely recommend.”

Other Free Audiobooks

Bitcoin Audiobook

Listen to the audiobook Bitcoin by Noah Gladwyn. Just like the audiobook above, it’s available to listen to for free via Audible

Bitcoin Audiobook

Try the audiobook Bitcoin by Pat Nakamoto for free. Listen to your first book for free the first 30 days.

Bitcoin Audiobook

Give the audiobook Bitcoin by Pat Nakamoto a listen. It might be the perfect listen for you.

This website is not owned nor operated by Audible. The website is operated by a very happy user, who wants to spread the word about the amazing service. Cover photo and book summary is property of Audible Inc.
We may receive commission if you click on links provided on this page. Read our Disclosure Policy for more information.